Tel: (+353) 53 9377308


Leinster ChampionsOur U16 Footballers made history recently by winning the school’s first ever Under 16 Leinster title!!   Well done to all involved in the squad and their mentors for the huge amount of work which went into securing this title for the school.   The following is a short account of how the match went.

Ashbourne started off strong, implementing a third mid-fielder and thus creating a lot of space for their forwards. FCJ eventually settled into the game and clawed their way back.    Peadair Cowman darted through the Ashbourne defence  and fired a shot from an impossible angle into the roof of the net. This, along with points from Brian Lambert and Sebastian Pim, propelled FCJ  into a one point lead heading into half time. Bunclody were certainly the  happier of the two teams having somehow come out on top in the first half  despite Ashbourne’s early dominance.

The second half began with one change on the FCJ team, Matthew Ging, a 1st year from Tinahely, came on and with the first ball he caught he headed straight for goal and with blistering pace he buried it perfectly in the top right corner. The full back line of John McCormack and Adam Hogan continued to steady the ship at the back allowing Eddie Black and Brian Lambert to push FCJ into a five point lead, with the aid of Edward Dunbar’s hard earned goal.   As FCJ were edging closer to the silverware Ashbourne began their final push to reclaim the lead and managed to pull it back to a two point deficit. In a last attempt to grab the winning goal a powerful shot went flying right into the  corner but was saved by goalkeeper James Lawlor.

The final whistle blew and the celebrations began. Peadair Cowman, captain of the FCJ team, lifted the cup and the FCJ men were crowned champions of    Leinster.   The team were led by managers, Mr. Brendan Daly, Mr. Michael   Fitzgibbons & Mr. Robert Murphy along with Mr. Tommy Earls.  Between them all this team has brought great pride to FCJ Secondary School Bunclody.

Scorers:  Brian Lambert 0-5 (two frees)       Eddie Black 0-2 (two frees)

               Peadair Cowman 1-0                           Cillian Redmond 0-1

               Edward Dunbar 1-2                              Sebastian Pim 0-1

               Matthew Ging 1-0


James Lawlor – Ferns St. Aidans                       

Robert Murphy-Ferns St. Aidans

Adam Hogan- HWH Bunclody

Byron Byrne-HWH Bunclody

Niall Murphy-Ferns St. Aidans

Liam McGuill-Kildavin/Clonegal

Sean Bookey-Kilrush/Askamore

Cillian Redmond-Kildavin/Clonegal

Peadair Cowman-HWH Bunclody (Captain)

Eddie Black-HWH Bunclody

Brian Lambert-Tinahely

Ciaran Kavanagh-HWH Bunclody

Daniel Ging-Tinahely

Edward Dunbar-HWH Bunclody

Sebastian Pim-Davidstown


Robert St. Ledger – Kildavin/Clonegal         

Kevin Mulhall-Tinahely                                     

John McCormack – HWH Bunclody                

Micheal Kinsella – Marshalstown                    

JP Farrell-Starlights                                            

Matthew Ging-Tinahely       

Gearoid Doyle-Duffry Rovers                             

Kevin Kenny-Kilrush/Askamore

Barry Doyle – Marshalstown

Daniel Farrell – HWH Bunclody

Paddy OHagan-Ferns St. Aidans

Sean Kirwan-Kilrush/Askamore

Peter Kelly-Ballyhogue

Adam Gethings-Davidstown

James Byrne – Kilrush/Askamore

Cian Cowman-Duffry Rovers                                                      

Cathal Dunbar-HWH Bunclody                                                                     

Mikey Furlong-HWH Bunclody                                                                      

Jack Regan-HWH Bunclody                                                                            

Cathal Lambert-Tinahely

George Kenny-Marshalstown

Alan Doyle-Duffry Rovers

Micheal McGinty- Davidstown

Johnny Sinnott-Ballygarrett

Ben Kidd-Starlights

Garrett O’Connor-Kilrush/Askamore                                   

Sean McLoughlin – Marshalstown

Aaron Dobbs – Kildavin/Clonegal

Seamus Doyle – Duffry Rovers

Daithi Medcalf – Starlights

Jamie Roban – Duffry Rovers

Niall Hickey – Kildavin/Clonegal

Darragh Kinsella – Kilrush



Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Contact Us

FCJ Secondary School,
Co. Wexford
Tel: (+353)53-9377308
App: FCJ Bunclody