Tel: (+353) 53 9377308


altar3 (1)

The Annual Beginning of Year Mass for staff and students of F.C.J. Secondary School, Bunclody, was held on Thursday, September 22nd, in the Church of the Most Holy Trinity, Bunclody.   The Eucharist was celebrated by the parish priest, V. Rev. Laurence O’Connor.   The theme of the Mass was the The Jubilee Year of Mercy, especially “A little bit of mercy makes the world less cold and more just.”  [Pope Francis].

At the end of Mass, all students and staff pledged to abide by the school’s Anti-Bullying Policy:

“I Pledge to Respect one another and accept our differences,  Reject all verbal, physical, relational and cyber bullying and Report all bullying incidents in our school.


Following the Mass, the deputy principal, Mr. Brendan Daly, spoke to the congregation and later presented badges to the new Senior Prefects and Meitheal Leaders.   He also presented the Academic Awards and the Leaving & Junior Certificate Awards.

“The first event is the presentation of badges to the Meitheal Leaders. As you all know the Meitheal Leaders specifically take responsibility for the integration of our 1st years. From Day 1 they are true companions to our new students, helping them to settle in and making our school a happier and safer place for all. This they do with the help and support of Mr. Quilter whom we also thank today. Their care and kindness shown to our 1st years will live on in the hearts and minds of our new students for the rest of their school days and beyond.

I now call on the Meitheal leaders to come forward to formally accept their badges:

Rebecca Bailey, Tom Dillane, Helen Doran, Rachel Dreelan, Maja Dumana

Lauren English-Adams, Cora Finn, Oran Fitzpatrick, Jack Hobbs, Glen Jacob

Robbie Kavanagh, Harry McCafferty, Megan Maher, Aoife M. Murphy

Katelyn Murphy, Caoimhe O’Brien, Sean Redmond, Michael Rossiter & Niamh Treacy

_MG_5237    12 x 8

“The 2nd event honours our Senior Prefects. These are students who have accepted a leadership role in our school and they fully accept the privilege of being elected by their peers coupled with the responsibility to uphold and promote the good name of the school at all times and to contribute to the successful running of the school in any way they can.

I now call on the Senior Prefects for 2016/2017 to come forward for their Dedication of Service and presentation of badges:

Helen Doran, Anna Flood, Robbie Kavanagh, Rachel Kelly, Michaela McDonald

Paul McDonald, Rikki Morris, Martin O’Connor, Alice O’Dowd (Head Girl)

Sean Redmond, Michael Rossiter (Head Boy) & Niamh Treacy

Together they now recite their Dedication of Service.”

_MG_5240   12 x 8 x 1

At this stage the Presentation of Academic Awards took place.  Please see details in AWARDS / ACADEMIC AWARDS under ABOUT OUR SCHOOL

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Contact Us

FCJ Secondary School,
Co. Wexford
Tel: (+353)53-9377308
App: FCJ Bunclody