Tel: (+353) 53 9377308

Annual Prizegiving May 2015

Mr. Dale Hennessy, (School Music Director) presided at the Annual Prizegiving Ceremony in F.C.J. Secondary School Bunclody on May 20th, and acted as M.C. throughout the morning in the presence of the principal, Ms. Frances Threadgold, the Deputy Principal, Mr. Brendan Daly, members of the teacher staff and all the students of the school.   Due to the fine weather, the event was held outdoors

Mr. Hennessy began, “This morning we gather to award students who have excelled in many different ways in our school. The awards will take the usual format where firstly 4th years will receive a number of certificates and of course the SPIRIT of 4th YEAR and the ENDEAVOUR Award will be announced.

The key to any student’s success in school begins with attending school every day and as always we will be awarding students who have attended school every day this year. Even better – four 6th year students will come forward to receive a special award for attending school every day for the last 5/6 years.

Awards will then be presented in a variety of subject areas and covering a range of achievements. Students who have contributed to school life on the Student Council and in various competitions will be acknowledged.”


Medals for Effective Communication (Public Speaking exams. of the LSMD)

Aoife Clarke, Caitlin Clauson, Tom Dillane, Helen Doran, John Dunne, James Kearney, Marie Celine Lawlor, Michaela McDonald, Aoife McGill, Aoife Murphy, Alice O’Dowd, Martin O’Connor, Leanne O’Neill, Sean Redmond, Chloe Rossiter &  Rosemary Smyth,

Wexford Enterprise Awards

Environmental – Tom Dillane, Jack Dunphy & Conor Lawton

Merit Award – Ryan Hollick & Shane Ryan

Class Enterprise Awards – Bronwyn Castles, Caitlin Clauson, Rachel Dreelan & Sophie Kidd.

Gorey Chamber of Commerce –  Mark Kehoe

Griffith College (2nd place in Ireland) – Rebecca Bailey, Aoife Clarke & Megan Maher.

Junk Kouture

Muireann Carton, Jamie Cloke, Aimee Cuddihy, Alanna Gill, Aoife Murphy, Leanne O’Neill & Gabby Stammers

SciFest 2015

Katie Byrne, Helen Doran, Eva Kealy, Rachel Kelly, Emma Lawlor, Alice O’Dowd & Mairead O’Rourke

Sustainable Energy Ireland Award:  Aimee Cuddihy & Rebeca Dempsey

Spirit of 4th Year 2015 Award:                 Helen Doran

4th Year Endeavour Award 2015:           Rachel Dreelan & Rikki Morris


Attendance Certificates were presented to all the students who had full attendance for the 2014/2015 academic year.

Special awards were presented to the following students who had not missed a day during their 5/6 years in the school:   Keith Armstrong, Aaron Behan, Aaron Dixon & Laura McGuire.


Presentation to the Student Council Members

Liam Ascott, Caitlin Davis, Aaron Howlin, Kira Kamateras, Chloe Kavanagh, Michaela McDonald, Michael Malcolmson, Aoife Murphy, James Murphy, Katie Nolan, Aine O’Neill, Chantel Roberts & Moya Rothwell


Junior Speller Awards

Edward Kinsella (AI), Emmanuel Njoku (BI), Shalom Oladiron (CI), Aaron Dixon (PI) & Aine Byrne (VI)

Maeve Dillane (AII), Robert St. Ledger (BII), Emma Warren (CII), Eoin Roche (PII) & Niall Hickey (VII)



Leaving Certificate:        Aime Gerardi

Junior Certificate:          Caitlin Cox & Orla Sinnott


Gaeltacht Scholarship in onóir na Siurach Cristín Lovett, fcJ :   Leah Maher

Pat Connaughton Arts Award:       Shauna O’Brien & James Skelton   (Presented by Mr. Rory Kinsella)

Home Economics

Leaving Certificate:        Aisling Byrne & Roisin Fitzhenry

Junior Certificate:          Maja Dumana, Kim O’Connor & Orla Sinnott

Engineering (LC):        Dale Rothwell


L.C.:           Fiach Byrne

J.C.:            Conor Kehoe

Design & Communications Graphics (DCG – LC):       David Foley

Technical Graphics (JC):                 Barry Hickey, John Kavanagh & Adam Ryan

Chemistry (LC):           David Foley

Construction Studies (LC):    Josh Meany

Materials Technology Wood (MTW – JC):       Cian Fitzhenry & John Kavanagh

Agricultural Science (LC):     Aoife McGuire

Music (LC):                      Bríd Lambert & Rebecca Quinn

Endeavour Award:      Jamie Fennell & Macayla Murphy


Sports Awards

Medals were presented to the following teams:

U16 Boys South East Football Champions

U16 Girls Leinster Camogie Champions

U16 Girls Basketball South East Champions

Senior Basketball Girls – All-Ireland Bronze medals

Leinster & All-Ireland Senior Handball medals at 60 x 30 and 40 x 20 to Keith Armstrong


Players of the Year

Football:               Fintan Harrington

Hurling:                Owen Roberts

Camogie:              Rachel Casey & Aine Kelly

Ladies Football:   Sinead Ryan

Basketball –          Junior:        Anna Flood & Orlagh Hickey

Senior:        Alison Frayne

Endeavour Award:                                        Lisa Bolger

Sports Personality of the Year:                  Keith Armstrong

Contact Us

FCJ Secondary School,
Co. Wexford
Tel: (+353)53-9377308
App: FCJ Bunclody