Tel: (+353) 53 9377308

Transition Year Option


T.Y. Co-ordinator : Mr. Tommy Earls

Transition year (4th year) is a one year programme offered to students at the end of Junior Cycle. The aim of the year is to provide opportunities for students to acquire skills and to discover individual talents, aptitudes and abilities. The emphasis is on the intellectual, social and personal development of students to help them tackle the demands of Senior Cycle and beyond.

The transition year programme is designed by each school under Department of Education guidelines to cater for the needs of their students. Transition year at FCJ Bunclody is a broad based programme. It includes core subjects which are studied all year – Irish, English Mathematics, French, Religious Education, P.E., History, Geography, Computers, Personal Development and Public Speaking. Students also study a number of subjects on a modular basis (8 weeks/16 weeks). The 8 week modules this year are: Chemistry/Biology, Business, Home Economics, The Built Environment, Physics, Road Safety, Technology, Music, Woodcraft, Economics, Accounting and Dance and the 16 week modules are Junk Kouture and Environmental Awareness. A cross curricular approach is adopted whenever possible.

Work Experience is an integral part of the transition year programme. Students attend work experience each Friday. This provides an opportunity to investigate possible career areas and to experience the world of work. In addition students have the opportunity to apply for places on a variety of additional structured programmes eg.   Introduction to Hospital Life Programme (Mater Hospital), R.C.S.I. Mini Med Programme, Law Society Programme – Solicitors of the Future, Bar of Ireland Transition Year Programme, College programmes for transition Year students, the Defense Forces, etc.

Transition year students undertake a variety of workshops across the year e.g., Induction Day, Matrix Training, Self Defence, Law Ed, Forensic Science, G.A.A. Coaching, First Aid, Film Making, Qualifax,  SOAR, etc.

A group of transition year students travel to the Bunclody Daycare Centre each week on a rota basis to  chat, play cards, sing and play music to and with the people who use the centre.  Transition Year students are also involved in fundraising activities, the Team Hope Christmas Shoebox Appeal each year and have set up a youth branch of St.Vincent DePaul within the school.

Project work comprises an important part of T.Y. Across the year they will be involved in project work in a variety of subject areas e.g. English – Press Pass, Geography – presentations, French – art/craft piece, History – My Personal History etc.

All students are undertaking the minicompany programme, an opportunity to set up and run their own business. In the current year a number of T.Y. students are also undertaking the following optional  extra curricular programmes, BT Young Scientist, Eco Unesco, Sci Fest, AIB Build a Bank Challenge, Bank of Ireland School Bank and Gaisce.

Transition year students  will travel to Barcelona next April. They will also undertake a number of subject based trips over the year e.g. Baltinglass Adventure Centre (P.E.), Road Safety – Wexford, Croke Park, Glasnevin Cemetary etc. (History), etc.

Transition Year differs from other educational programmes in that students are freed from the constraints of the formal examination system. While there are no state exams, assessment is carried out on an ongoing basis and includes school based assessment in the forms of written projects, orals, practical work, presentations, class tests etc.

In the current year 96 students are undertaking transition year (4 classes). You can follow their progress on the school app.


At the Annual Prize giving the “Spirit of 4th Year” Award is presented to the student considered to have best embodied the school’s Transition Year Objectives.   An “Endeavour Award” is also presented.

2018 ~ Edward Kinsella, Ferns & Ben Bayley, Kildavin (Endeavour Award)


2017 ~ Ladine Fisher, Ballon & Maeve Dillane (Endeavour Award)

2016 ~ Ciara Banville, Ballindaggin & John Kavanagh, Bolinrush (Endeavour Award)

2015 ~  Helen Doran, Ferns and Rachael Dreelan, Ardattin & Rikki Morris, Bunclody (Endeavour Awards)

2014 ~  Hugh McInerney, Kilbride, and Caoimhe Redmond, Kildavin (Endeavour Award)

2013 ~  Bríd Lambert, Rathangan,  and Rachel O’Dowd, Camolin (Endeavour Award)

2012 ~  Lorna Reid, Camolin and James Murphy, Kildavin (Endeavour Award)

2011 ~ Linda Darcy,  and Darragh Hughes, Clonegal (Endeavour )

2010 ~ Caoilfhinn Ó Muiri , Bunclody and Mairéad Lancaster, Kiltilly (Endeavour)

2009 ~ Kevin Coleman, Tombrack
2009 Endeavour Award ~ Lisa O’Neill, Glasslacken
2008 ~ Cathal Byrne, Carnew
2008 Endeavour Award ~ John Egan, Parkbridge
2007 ~ Finbarr Foley, Carnew 
2007 Endeavour Award ~ Bríd O’Neill, Camolin
2006 ~ Aisling Meyler, Bunclody 
2006 Endeavour Award ~ Laura Berney, Monaseed
2005 ~ Mairéad Roberts, Myshall 
2005 Endeavour Award ~ James Byrne, Monasootha
2004 ~ Maeve O’Brien, Kiltealy 
2004 Endeavour Award ~ Colm Hughes, Clonhaston
2003 ~ Louise Sweeney , Ballingate Lower
2002 ~ Paul Doyle , Clonegal
2001 ~ Deirdre Nolan , Bunclody
2000 ~ Elaine Hoysted , Bunclody

“Outstanding 4th Year Student (s)” Awards were presented from 1996 to 1999

1999 ~ Emer Doyle , Clonmullen & Danielle Kearns , Scarawalsh, Bunclody
1998 ~ Brid Foley , Bunclody & Lisa Frayne , Enniscorthy
1997 ~ Mark Tobin , Ballyroebuck
1996 ~ Emma Higgins , Enniscorthy

Contact Us

FCJ Secondary School,
Co. Wexford
Tel: (+353)53-9377308
App: FCJ Bunclody